Non-formal education

Àsìkò Art School

Lagos, Nigeria

Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh, S.A.F.P.A (Six and Four:Prison Anxieties) 2013, Installation Detail, Chale Wote Street Art Festival, Accra 2013. Courtesy the Artist
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Die Àsìkò Art School gehört zum CCA Lagos – Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos. Im Jahr 2010 startete das innovative Programm mit dem Ziel, die Bildungslücke in Nigeria und anderen afrikanischen Ländern zu schließen.

Der Kurs umfasst ein 30-tägiges Programm, das sich zum Teil der Technik, aber vor allem der Methodik, kritischem Denken und der Umsetzung von konzeptionellen Ideen widmet. Das Ganze richtet sich an Menschen, die sich mit der Idee und der Gestaltung ihrer Arbeit auseinandersetzen wollen, sowie an Kunstschaffende, die neugierig sind und Lust haben, mit verschiedenen Arbeitsmethoden zu experimentieren. Dabei werden die Grenzen des Traditionellen überschritten, ohne dass diese gänzlich außer Acht gelassen werden.

Nach Durchführung von zwei Programmen in Lagos, On Independence and the Ambivalence of Promise (2010) sowie History/Materiality (2012), nahm die Initiative erstmals einen mobile Charakter an, indem sie in andere westafrikanische Länder reiste (Accra, Ghana, 2013 und Dakar, Senegal, 2014), um im stetigen Austausch mit dem übrigen Kontinent zu sein. 2015 setzte das Programm seine Reise fort und wanderte erstmals quer durch den Kontinent, um sich mit süd- und ostafrikanischen Kontexten und der Geschichte und Kultur eines portugiesischsprachigen Landes, Mosambik, auseinanderzusetzen. Teil des Hauptprogramms von Àsìkò ist das kuratorische Lab, was zu einem wesentlichen Bestandteil der Initiative geworden ist. Es wurde 2012 initiiert, um dem dringenden Bedarf an mehr KuratorInnen auf dem Kontinent zu begegnen. Die Teilnhemenden werden dabei angeregt, ihre Forschungsmethoden und Fähigkeiten in kritischem Schreiben zu entwickeln und eng mit den afrikanischen KünstlerInnen im Programm sowie mit erfahrenen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden aus der ganzen Welt zusammenzuarbeiten.

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Non-formal education

Àsìkò Art School

Lagos, Nigeria

Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh, S.A.F.P.A (Six and Four:Prison Anxieties) 2013, Installation Detail, Chale Wote Street Art Festival, Accra 2013. Courtesy the Artist
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Àsìkò Art School forms part of CCA Lagos – Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos. The innovative programme was launched in 2010 with the aim of bridging the gap in the educational system in Nigeria and other African countries.

The course comprises a 30-day programme dedicated partly to technique but primarily to methodology, critical thinking, and the implementation of conceptual ideas. The programme is aimed at people interested in thinking through the conception and execution of their work, as well as artists who are curious and interested in experimenting with different modes of practice, transcending traditional methods without totally excluding them.

After two programmes in Lagos, On Independence and the Ambivalence of Promise (2010) as well as History/Materiality in 2012, for the first time the initiative took on an itinerant character by moving to other West African countries (Accra, Ghana in 2013 and Dakar, Senegal in 2014) as a way of continuously engaging with the rest of the continent. In 2015, the programme continued its itinerary by moving across the continent for the first time to engage with southern and eastern African contexts and with the history and culture of a lusophone country, Mozambique. As part of its core programme, Àsìkò includes the curatorial lab, which has become an integral component of the initiative. Begun in 2012 in response to an urgent need for more curators on the continent, the participants are encouraged to develop their research methodologies and critical writing skills as well as engage closely with artists in the programme from across the continent and with experienced art professionals from around the world. 

 

www.asikoartschool.org