Workshops

Photographer ’s Master Class – Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

Gemeinsam mit Simon Njami initiierte das Goethe-Institut Johannesburg 2008 den Workshop ‚Photographer’s Master Class‘, ein Forum, in dem junge afrikanische FotografInnen KuratorInnen sowohl vom Kontinent als auch von weiter her begegnen können.

Seitdem findet der Workshop jedes Jahr in einem geschlossenen Rahmen zur Begutachtung von Arbeitsportfolios statt, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Besprechung von Arbeitsmappen durch KollegInnen und einer informellen Meisterklasse liegt, ein Teil der Zeit aber auch der Besprechung von einzelnen Portfolios gewidmet ist.

2014 beteiligten sich Akinbode Akinbiyi, Frédérique Chapuis, John Fleetwood, Simon Njami und Katrin Peters-Klaphake als MentorInnen für zwölf FotografInnen aus Kamerun, DR Kongo, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal, Südafrika, Sudan und Uganda. Das Langzeitprojekt soll den professionellen Austausch zwischen KuratorInnen und FotografInnen fördern, das Networking in der gesamten Region ermöglichen und einen kritischen Diskurs zu Fotografie als Praxis anregen. Der Workshop ist immer so terminiert dass er mit einer größeren Kunst- oder Fotografieveranstaltung auf dem Kontinent zusammenfällt, was einen weiteren Rahmen für Austausch und Präsentationsmöglichkeiten schafft. 2014 fand er gleichzeitig mit der Joburg Art Fair statt.

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Workshops

Photographer ’s Master Class – Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

The Goethe-Institut Johannesburg and Simon Njami initiated the Photographer’s Master Class in 2008 as a forum for emerging African photographers to meet with curators from the continent and further afield.

The workshop as a closed portfolio reading has been taking place annually since and is structured to privilege a peer review process and informal master class, with time dedicated also to individual portfolio review.

In 2014 Akinbode Akinbiyi, Frédérique Chapuis, John Fleetwood, Simon Njami and Katrin Peters-Klaphake participated as mentors with twelve photographers from Cameroon, DRC, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda. This long-term project is designed to encourage professional engagement between curators and photographers, enable networking across the region and encourage critical discourse around photography as practice. The workshop is always set to coincide with a major art or photography event on the continent, which provides a further framework for engagement and exposure. In 2014 it coincided with the Joburg Art Fair.