FRANCISCO VIDAL


Francisco Vidal 2. U.topia Luanda series, 2015, Angola's pavilion
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

Francisco Vidal ist 1978 in Lissabon, Portugal, geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Lissabon. 2010 machte er seinen Master of Fine Arts an der Columbia University School of the Arts, New York, USA, nach Abschluss eines Maumaus Independent Study Programmes an der Maumaus School of Visual Arts in Lissabon, Portugal im Jahre 2005 und dem Erwerb des Bachelor in Fine Arts an der Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Caldas da Rainha, Portugal im Jahr 2003. Er fühlt sich als Afrikaner, auch wenn er nicht auf dem Kontinent geboren ist, er wuchs in der afrikanischen Diaspora in Portugal auf. Francisco arbeitet mit Zeichnungen, bildhauerischen Arbeiten und Installationen, um ein Universum zu schaffen, das sich nicht leicht einordnen lässt, in seiner Kontinuität aber seine persönliche Entwicklung und seinen Standpunkt widerspiegelt. Francisco Vidals Arbeiten in verschiedenen Formaten sind das Ergebnis einer zunehmend akribischen Reflektion der Realität, in der er lebt. Neben seiner eigenen künstlerischen Praxis als Maler spielte Vidal eine wesentliche Rolle in der Entwicklung der Kunstszene in Luanda. 2012 gründete er zusammen mit Rita GT, Antonio Ole und Nelo Texeira das e-studio Luanda, ein Künstlerkollektiv, Projektraum und Studiokomplex mit Sitz in Luanda, das regelmäßige Ausstellungen produziert und ein Kunstausbildungsprogramm anbietet.

In seinen aktuellen Arbeiten beschäftigt sich Francisco Vidal mit der modernistischen Vorstellung von Technologie als zentralem Element des Traums von Utopie, repräsentiert durch die Maschine. Tiwani Contemporary wird eine raumbezogene Installation zeigen, die Vidal mit seiner Utopie-Maschine produziert hat: eine Sperrholzkiste im Standardformat, die ein All-in-one-Toolkit für die Massenproduktion von Screenprints enthält, und auch als Papierherstellungsmaschine dienen kann.

Zusammengefügt bilden die Papierstapel eine modulare Leinwand, eine Haut aus Karton, die unendlich weite Flächen bedecken kann. Die Maschine entstand aus einer Reaktion auf Vidals eigene Migrationserfahrung und die Herausforderungen, die der moderne, wandernde Künstler meistern muss. Parallel zu seiner künstlerischen Praxis als Maler spielte Francisco Vidal eine wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung der Kunstszene in Luanda. Vidal war einer der Mitbegründer des e-studio Luanda, einem Künstlerkollektiv, Projektraum und Studiokomplex, das regelmäßige Ausstellungen produziert und ein Kunstausbildungsprogramm durchführt. Vidal ist einer der außergewöhnlichsten künstlerischen Stimmen der jungen Kunst aus Angola, seine Arbeiten wurden in der offiziellen Auswahl für den Angolanischen Pavillon auf der 56. Biennale die Venezia 2015 gezeigt.

AUSGEWÄHLTE EINZEL- UND DOPPEL-AUSSTELLUNGEN

2015

Francisco Vidal Einzelausstellung, Tiwani Contemporary, London, UK

2014

Água e Luz, Instituto Camões, Luanda, Angola

2012

AIR – African Industrial Revolution (Zusammenarbeit mit Rita GT), UNAP – National Union of Visual Artists, Luanda, Angola

Agora a seguir e como, Candonga Studio (Zusammenarbeit mit Rita GT), Museu Municipal de Viana do Castelo, Portugal

2011

Candonga’s Message no2: Rhino and Elephant, Candonga Studio (Zusammenarbeit mit Rita GT), National Museum of Natural History, Lissabon, Portugal

2009

youtube_painting@barbearia_africana.com, Galeria 111, Lissabon, Portugal

2008

Water, Galeria 111, Lissabon, Portual

Ecotone, Galeria 111, Porto, Portugal

2006

Subbus, Galeria 111, Lissabon, Portugal

Pause 05:05:06, VPFCreamArt, Lissabon, Portugal

AUSGEWÄHLTE GRUPPENAUSSTELLUNGEN

2015

African Industrial Revolution (A.IR.), mit e-studio Luanda, Tiwani Contemporary, London, UK

Food and Culture: Education for Innovation, Vertreter Angolas auf der Expo Milano 2015, Italien

On Ways of Travelling, Angolanischer Pavillon, 56. Biennale die Venezia, Italien

Devour Part I (part of Devour! Social Cannibalism, Political Redefinition and Architecture) mit e‑studio Luanda, Freies Museum in Zusammenarbeit mit Savvy Contemporary, Berlin, DE Devour Part III (part of Devour! Social Cannibalism, Political Redefinition and Architecture) mit e-studio Luanda, KunstKraftWerk Leipzig, DE

2014

BAiart16, Luanda, Angola

2013

Angolan Young Artists, National Museum of Natural History, Luanda, Angola

2012

Luanda’s New Paintings, Espaço Bahia, Luanda, Angola

2011

Mabaxa, Triennial of Luanda, Soso Gallery – Contemporary African Art, Luanda, Angola

Tatoli Ba Kultura, Dili, Timor Leste

MFA Thesis Exhibition, Fisher Landau Center for the Arts, Long Island, USA

2010

ResPublica 1910 e 2010 face a face, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lissabon, Portugal

Povo, EDP Foundation, Lissabon, Portugal

Bicentennial Exhibition, Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Santiago, Chile

O Dia pela Noite, Lux, Lissabon, Portugal

2009

Em Bragança, Apontamentos de Arte Contemporânea, Centro de Arte Contemporânea Graça Morais, Bragança, Portugal

2008

Á Volta do Papel – 100 Artistas, Centro de Arte Manuel de Brito, Algés, Portugal

Mundos Locais: espaços, visibilidades e fluxo, transculturais, Centro Cultural de Lagos, Portugal

2007

Troca de Olhares (Exchanging Glances), Instituto Camões, Cidade da Praia, Cape Verde, and touring to Luanda, Angola and Maputo, Mozambique

2006

9370-111, Galeria das Mudas, Calheta, Ilha da Madeira, Portugal

2005

EDP Prize, Pavilhão de Portugal, Coimbra, Portugal

Anteciparte, Estufa Fria, Lisboa, Portugal

Architecture As Interim, Maumaus School of Arts, Lisbon, Portugal

FRANCISCO VIDAL


Francisco Vidal 2. U.topia Luanda series, 2015, Angola's pavilion
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Francisco Vidal was born in Lisbon, Portugal, in 1978 and currently lives and works in Lisbon.

In 2010, he received his MFA from Columbia University School of the Arts, New York following the Maumaus Independent Study Program from Maumaus School of Visual Arts, Lisbon, Portugal in 2005 and a bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts from the School of Art and Design, Caldas da Rainha, Portugal, in 2002. He feels African even though he was not born on the continent and is a product of the African diaspora in Portugal. Francisco has been working on drawings, sculpture, and installation pieces to create a universe that is not easily classified, but whose continuity reflects his viewpoint and his development as a person. His works, in various formats, are the outcome of increasingly meticulous reflection on the reality he lives in. In parallel with his own practice as a painter, Vidal has played an instrumental role in fostering the visual arts scene in Luanda. In 2012, along with Rita GT, Antonio Ole and Nelo Texeira, he founded e-studio Luanda, a Luanda-based artists’ collective, project space, and studio complex that holds regular exhibitions and runs an art education program.

Francisco Vidal’s current practice revisits the modernist idea of technology as central to the dream of utopia, represented by the machine. Tiwani Contemporary will present a site-specific installation by Vidal, produced using his utopia machine: a standard-size plywood box containing an all-in-one toolkit for the mass production of screen prints, also functioning as a papermaking device.

Joined together, these paper tiles form a modular canvas, a cardboard skin that can cover infinite surfaces. The machine was born of a response to Vidal’s own experience of migration and the challenges faced by the modern, itinerant artist. In parallel with Francisco Vidal’s practice as a painter, he has played an instrumental role in fostering the visual arts scene in Luanda. Vidal is one of the most singular artistic voices to have recently emerged from Angola, and his work was part of the official selection for the Angolan Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.