Inside the Library: Bookstop Sanaa Art Library, Daressalam

TRANSITION Magazines © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

Die Bibliothek

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Bookstop Sanaa ist eine neu gegründete Kunstbibliothek und ein kreatives Lernzentrum in Daressalam, Tansania. Die Sammlung ist darauf ausgerichtet, ein breites Spektrum der bildenden Kunst abzudecken, von der Malerei über die Installation bis zu theoretischen Texten. Ein wesentlicher Teil der Bibliothek ist dem Schwerpunkt Kunst von afrikanischen (in Afrika lebenden) und diasporischen KünstlerInnen gewidmet, um die Praxis vor Ort zu inspirieren und zu stimulieren. Die Bibliothek dient in erster Linie Kunststudierenden und autodidaktisch arbeitenden KünstlerInnen.

Um die Nutzung der Bibliothek zu fördern, planen wir mit unseren Bildungs- und Kulturpartnern in Dar offene Vorträge, Workshops und Veranstaltungen. Damit wollen wir dafür sorgen, dass die Büchersammlung bei Bookstop Sanaa ihre Zielgruppe erreicht und deren Interesse weckt, um die Stimme der zeitgenössischen Kunstpraxis in Tansania zu stärken und deren Entwicklung zu fördern.

Hintergrund

Die Bibliothek wurde als Reaktion auf Forderungen von Kunstschaffenden, Studierenden und ForscherInnen gegründet. Bisher waren gutes Material zu zeitgenössischer Kunst und Bücher, die die Kunstgeschichte Tansanias/Ostafrikas widerspiegeln, nicht leicht erhältlich. Um eine Lösung für dieses Problem zu finden, beschloss Sarita Mamseri, Pädagogin für kulturelles Erbe, eine Bibliothek in der größten Stadt Tansanias Daressalam aufzubauen und begann in London mit ihrer eigenen Sammlung von Kunstbüchern. Sie startete Aufrufe für Buchspenden bei ihren KollegInnen im britischen Kultursektor. Darauf folgte das Einwerben von Spenden, um Fachtexte erwerben zu können und dann die Bücher nach Tansania zu verschicken. Die Resonanz von Einzelpersonen und Organisationen war überwältigend, so dass Bookstop Sanaa im Februar 2014 mit beinahe 400 Büchern zu Kunst (und sachverwandten Themen) sowie Zeitschriften zunächst für ein begrenztes Publikum an den Start gehen konnte.

Die Reise bot auch gewisse Herausforderungen. Sich in der rechtlichen Bürokratie der Gesellschaftsgründung und Erlangung der Gemeinnützigkeit zurechtzufinden, Spediteuren hinterherzulaufen, damit Bücher vom Zoll freigegeben werden, die Bibliothek mit einem Minibudget tatsächlich einzurichten, das waren nur einige der Hindernisse, die überwunden werden mussten. Nichtdestotrotz wird Bookstop Sanaa von einer dynamischen Welle getragen, die in unserer offiziellen Eröffnung Ende Mai 2014 gemündet ist. Die Reise beginnt also erst!

Fünf wichtige Bücher in der BSS-Bibliothek

Inspired: Three Decades of Tanzanian Art, 2013.

Dieser Katalog moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst in Tansania ist ein sehr wertvoller Beitrag. Er dokumentiert eine besonders dynamische Phase, eine, die den bisher bekanntesten Künstler der Nation, George Lilanga, aufs internationale Parkett katapultierte. Neben Kunstwerken von einigen der namhaftesten KünstlerInnen Tansanias sind auch erläuternde Texte und seltene Fotografien von Nyumba ya Sanaa, dem historischen Kunstzentrum Daressalams in seiner Glanzzeit enthalten. Präsident Julius Nyerere und ausländische Staatsoberhäupter gingen dort ein und aus und es steht für eine Zeit, in der Kunst und Kultur von höchster nationaler Bedeutung waren.

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Transition-Ausgaben

Wir erhielten eine große Anzahl des literarischen und kulturellen Magazins TRANSITION als Geschenk. 1961 von Rajat Neojy in Uganda gegründet, reichen die Ausgaben in unserer Sammlung von 1962 bis 1974 und behandeln viele der epochalen Momente während der Unabhängigkeitsjahre Afrikas. Aus dem Blickwinkel der bildenden Kunst dokumentiert die Zeitschrift zeitgenössische Kunst von tansanischen KünstlerInnen und Artikel des tansanischen Gründungsvaters Julius K. Nyerere, die sonst schwer zu finden sind. Allein die Titel sind aufgrund ihrer fantastischen Bilder beachtenswert.

Art in Eastern Africa, 2007

Dieses Buch bietet informative Essays über Kunst und Sachkultur in Ostafrika – aus der Sicht von KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und SchriftstellerInnen. Es setzt einen starken Gegenpol zum alten Diktum es gäbe keine Kunst in Ostafrika, indem es eine Bandbreite von Kunststilen und Medien präsentiert und die Konstrukte dessen, was als Kunst angesehen wird, infrage stellt. Eine äußerst wichtige kritische Anthologie für die Region und darüber hinaus.

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level: A Collection of Drawings, 2012

Dies ist ein unverzichtbares Buch für ganz unterschiedliche Menschen und Berufe. Jeder weiß vom rasanten Tempo der Entwicklung in afrikanischen Ländern. Doch was passiert mit den multikulturellen Gebäuden in diesen Städten? Wie werden sie für die Nachwelt dokumentiert? Die in Tansania lebende Künstlerin Sarah Markes hat viele Gebäude in Daressalam dokumentiert, die die facettenreiche Geschichte des kulturellen Erbes widerspiegeln, ob dies swahilische, deutsche, asiatische oder britische Wurzeln hat. Die detaillierten Zeichnungen und Illustrationen dieser Standorte sind von großer historischer Bedeutung, da viele dieser Gebäude inzwischen nicht mehr existieren.

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow, 2010

Das begleitende Buch und Magazin zur Ausstellung der Berliner Nationalgalerie Who Knows Tomorrow von 2010 ist ein literarischer und visueller Genuss. Die Ausstellung präsentierte Arbeiten, die Fragen stellten zur globalen Positionierung und Gewichtung afrikanischer Nationen in politischer, wirtschaftlicher, sozialer und historischer Hinsicht. Fünf international anerkannte KünstlerInnen afrikanischer Herkunft zeigten ihre Werke im Innen- und Außenbereich an mehreren Standorten, u.a. einer umgewandelten Kirche und der Nationalgalerie. Das Buch enthält hervorragende Essays und Artikel, die sich mit den Kunstwerken und anderen Fragen auseinandersetzen. Beitragende sind u.a. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie und Dambisa Moyo. Das großformatige Magazin enthält Interviews mit teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen, darunter El Anatsui und Zarina Bhimji, und ist eine wunderbare Zeitschrift, in die der gelegentliche Bibliotheksbesucher eintauchen und etwas über zeitgenössische Kunst erfahren kann.

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Sarita Lydia Mamseri is die Gründerin und Co-Leiterin von Bookstop Sanaa Art Library.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Inside the Library: Bookstop Sanaa Art Library, Dar es Salaam

TRANSITION Magazines © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

The Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Bookstop Sanaa is a newly opened art library and creative learning hub in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. The collection aims to cover the wide spectrum of the visual arts from painting to installation to theoretical texts. A significant portion of the library focuses on art from Africa and the Diaspora to inform and stimulate local practice. The library is of primary service to art students and self-educated artists.

To encourage use of the library, we are organizing informal talks, workshops and events with our educational and cultural partners in Dar. This is to ensure that Bookstop Sanaa’s collection of books reaches and engages with its audience to strengthen the voice of contemporary art practice in Tanzania and support its development.

Background

The library has been established in response to calls from artists, students and researchers. Access to good material on contemporary art and books that reflect Tanzania/East Africa’s own artistic history has not always been readily available. In an attempt to provide a solution to the problem, heritage educator Sarita Mamseri decided to set up a library in Tanzania’s main city of Dar es Salaam starting with her own collection of art books in London, UK. Book donation calls went out to her colleagues in the UK cultural sector. This was followed by fundraising treks in order to purchase specialist texts and then ship the books to Tanzania. The response from individuals and organisations was tremendous and enabled Bookstop Sanaa to soft launch in February 2014 with near 400 art (and related subject) books and journals.

The journey has been not without its challenges. Navigating through the legal bureaucracies of company formation and charitable status, chasing shipping agents for the release of books from customs, and physically setting up the library on a shoestring budget were just some of the obstacles to work through. Despite this, Bookstop Sanaa has been riding on a wave of momentum that culminated in our official launch at the end of May 2014. So, the journey is just beginning!

Five Books of Significance in BSS Library

Inspired: Three Decades of Tanzanian Art, 2013.

This catalogue of modern and contemporary art in Tanzania is a very valuable contribution. It documents a particularly dynamic period; one that catapulted the nation’s most famous artist thus far, George Lilanga, to the international stage. Along with artwork from some of Tanzania’s most notable artists, there are also interpretative texts and rarely seen photographs of Dar es Salaam’s historic art center Nyumba ya Sanaa in its heyday. Frequented by President Julius Nyerere and visiting heads of state, it highlighted an era when art and culture were of prime national importance.

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Transition Magazines

We were gifted a great number of the literary and cultural magazine TRANSITION. Founded in Uganda by Rajat Neojy in 1961, the editions in our collection range from 1962 to 1974 and cover many of the epochal moments during Africa’s years of independence. From a visual art perspective it documents hard-to-find contemporary art by Tanzanian artists and articles written by Tanzania’s founding father Julius K. Nyerere. The front covers alone are exceptional for their stunning visuals.

Art in Eastern Africa, 2007

This book provides informative essays on art and material culture in eastern Africa expounded by artists, scholars and writers. It provides strong evidence against the old adage of there being no art in East Africa by demonstrating a breadth of art styles and mediums and challenging the constructs of what is considered art. A highly necessary critical anthology for the region and beyond.

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level: A Collection of Drawings, 2012

This is a vital book for a variety of people and professions. Everybody hears about the rapid pace of development in African nations. But what is happening to the multicultural buildings in these cities? How are they being recorded for posterity? Tanzania-based artist Sarah Markes has documented many of Dar es Salaam’s buildings that reflect the city’s rich mixed history of cultural heritage, be it of Swahili, German, Asian or British influence. Detailed drawings and illustrations of these sites are of great historical significance now that many of these buildings no longer exist.

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow, 2010

This book and magazine to accompany the National Museums in Berlin’s 2010 exhibition Who Knows Tomorrow is a literary and visual treat. The exhibition presented work that asked questions of African nations’ global positioning and weight politically, economically, socially and historically. Five internationally recognized artists of African descent displayed their work in and around a number of venues including a de-sanctified church and the National Gallery. The book contains excellent essays and articles reflecting on the artwork and issues by a range of contributors including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Dambisa Moyo. The broadsheet-sized magazine contains interviews with participating artists including El Anatsui and Zarina Bhimji and is a great magazine for the occasional library user to dip into and discover contemporary art.

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Sarita Lydia Mamseri is the founder and co-director of Bookstop Sanaa Art Library.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.