Inside the Library: Bookstop Sanaa Art Library, Dar es Salaam

TRANSITION Magazines © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

La bibliothèque

 

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

 

Bookstop Sanaa est une nouvelle bibliothèque d’art qui vient de démarrer  ; elle constitue un pôle d’apprentissage créatif à Dar es Salaam, en Tanzanie. La collection a pour objectif de couvrir la vaste palette d’arts visuels, de la peinture aux installations en passant par des textes théoriques. Une importante partie de la bibliothèque se concentre sur les œuvres d’art réalisées par des artistes africains (basés sur le continent) ou par des artistes issus de la diaspora dans le but d’informer et de stimuler les pratiques locales. La bibliothèque est en priorité un service mis à la disposition des étudiants en art et des artistes autodidactes.

 

Pour encourager l’utilisation de la bibliothèque, nous prévoyons d’organiser des débats informels, des ateliers et des événements en collaboration avec nos partenaires dans les domaines de l’éducation et de la culture à Dar. Il s’agit d’assurer que la collection de livres de Bookstop Sanaa touche son public et l’implique afin de se faire l’écho de la pratique d’art contemporain en Tanzanie et de soutenir son développement.

 

Contexte 

La bibliothèque a été mise sur pied pour répondre aux demandes d’artistes, d’étudiants et de chercheurs. Obtenir du matériel de qualité relatif à l’art contemporain et des livres qui traitent de l’histoire artistique spécifique de la Tanzanie / de l’est de l’Afrique n’a pas toujours été chose aisée. Afin de fournir une solution au problème, la spécialiste en matière de patrimoine Sarita Mamseri a décidé de mettre sur pied une bibliothèque à Dar es Salaam, la plus grande ville de Tanzanie, en partant de sa propre collection de livres d’art à Londres, en Grande-Bretagne. Elle a adressé des appels aux dons de livres à ses collègues du secteur culturel britannique. Par la suite, une campagne de collecte de fonds a permis d’acheter des ouvrages de textes de spécialistes et de les expédier en Tanzanie par bateau. La réponse, tant de la part de personnes individuelles que d’organisations, a été un véritable succès si bien que Bookstop Sanaa a discrètement lancé le projet en février 2014 avec près de 400 livres et magazines d’art (ou portant sur des sujets afférents).

 

Le voyage était pourtant semé d’embûches. Parmi les obstacles à surmonter, il a fallu naviguer dans les eaux de la bureaucratie liée à la fondation d’une société et au statut d’organisme caritatif, faire la chasse aux transporteurs afin de dédouaner les livres bloqués aux frontières et enfin monter physiquement la bibliothèque au sens propre du terme en ne disposant que d’un budget dérisoire. En dépit de tout cela, Bookstop Sanaa bénéficie d’une véritable vague de dynamisme qui nous a permis d’organiser une inauguration officielle à la fin du mois de mai. Nous n’en sommes donc qu’au début  du voyage !

 

Cinq livres d’une grande importance dans la bibliothèque BSS 

 

Inspired : Three Decades of Tanzanian Art, 2013.

Ce catalogue d’art moderne et contemporain en Tanzanie est une contribution très précieuse. Il documente une période particulièrement dynamique qui a propulsé l’artiste le plus connu du pays à ce jour vers le haut de la scène internationale, George Lilanga. Le catalogue contient certaines oeuvres des artistes les plus marquants de Tanzanie mais aussi des textes interprétant leurs travaux et des photographies rares du centre d’art historique de Dar es Salaam, Nyumba ya Sanaa, à l’apogée de sa gloire. Fréquenté à l’époque par le président Julius Nyerere, ce lieu avait fait l’objet de la visite de chefs d’Etats, et mettait en exergue une ère pendant laquelle art et culture étaient d’une importance capitale à l’échelle nationale.

 

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

 

Magazines Transition 

Un grand nombre d’exemplaires du magazine littéraire et culturel TRANSITION nous a été offert. Créés en Ouganda par Rajat Neojy en 1961, les numéros de notre collection vont des années 1962 à 1974 et couvrent de nombreux moments d’époque pendant les années d’indépendance de l’Afrique. Du point de vue art visuel, ce magazine documente des œuvres d’art contemporain difficiles à trouver, réalisées par des artistes tanzaniens ainsi que des articles rédigés par le père fondateur de la Tanzanie, Julius K. Nyerere.  A elles seules, les couvertures méritent notre attention, ne serait-ce que pour leur graphisme époustouflant.

 

Art in Eastern Africa, 2007

Ce livre fournit des essais informatifs sur l’art et la culture matérielle en Afrique de l’Est développés par des artistes, des universitaires et des écrivains. Il contredit fortement le vieil adage selon lequel il n’y a pas d’art en Afrique de l’Est en présentant un éventail de styles et de modes artistiques tout en mettant au défi les concepts relatifs à ce qui est considéré comme de l’art. Une anthologie critique plus que nécessaire pour cette région, entre autres.

 

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

 

Street level : A Collection of Drawings, 2012 

Il s’agit d’un livre essentiel pour une multitude de personnes et de professions. Tout le monde entend parler du rythme accéléré de développement au sein des nations africaines. Mais qu’arrive-t-il aux bâtiments multiculturels de ces cités  ? Comment sont-ils consignés pour la postérité  ? L’artiste Sarah Markes, basée en Tanzanie, a documenté de nombreux  bâtiments de Dar es Salaam qui reflètent le riche patrimoine historique culturel métissé, qu’il s’agisse de l’influence swahili, allemande, asiatique ou britannique. Des dessins et des illustrations détaillés de ces sites sont d’une grande valeur historique étant donné que bon nombre de ces bâtiments ont aujourd’hui disparu.

 

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

 

Who Knows Tomorrow, 2010

Ce livre et magazine accompagnant l’exposition 2010 des musées berlinois Who Knows Tomorrow est un régal à la fois littéraire et visuel. L’exposition présentait des œuvres qui soulevaient les questions du positionnement international des nations africaines et de leurs poids politique, économique, social et historique. Cinq artistes internationalement reconnus d’origine africaine avaient présenté leur travail à l’intérieur et autour d’un nombre de sites incluant une église dé-sanctifiée et la Galerie nationale. Le livre contient d’excellents essais et articles relatifs aux œuvres et thèmes traités qui ont été rédigés par des auteurs dont Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie et Dambisa Moyo. Ce magazine grand format contient des interviews avec des artistes participants tels qu’El Anatsui et Zarina Bhimji ; c’est aussi un splendide magazine pour l’utilisateur occasionnel de la bibliothèque qui souhaite découvrir et plonger dans l’art contemporain.

 

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

 

 

Sarita Lydia Mamseri est la fondatrice et co-directrice de Bookstop Sanaa Art Library.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Inside the Library: Bookstop Sanaa Art Library, Dar es Salaam

TRANSITION Magazines © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

The Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

© Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Bookstop Sanaa is a newly opened art library and creative learning hub in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. The collection aims to cover the wide spectrum of the visual arts from painting to installation to theoretical texts. A significant portion of the library focuses on art from Africa and the Diaspora to inform and stimulate local practice. The library is of primary service to art students and self-educated artists.

To encourage use of the library, we are organizing informal talks, workshops and events with our educational and cultural partners in Dar. This is to ensure that Bookstop Sanaa’s collection of books reaches and engages with its audience to strengthen the voice of contemporary art practice in Tanzania and support its development.

Background

The library has been established in response to calls from artists, students and researchers. Access to good material on contemporary art and books that reflect Tanzania/East Africa’s own artistic history has not always been readily available. In an attempt to provide a solution to the problem, heritage educator Sarita Mamseri decided to set up a library in Tanzania’s main city of Dar es Salaam starting with her own collection of art books in London, UK. Book donation calls went out to her colleagues in the UK cultural sector. This was followed by fundraising treks in order to purchase specialist texts and then ship the books to Tanzania. The response from individuals and organisations was tremendous and enabled Bookstop Sanaa to soft launch in February 2014 with near 400 art (and related subject) books and journals.

The journey has been not without its challenges. Navigating through the legal bureaucracies of company formation and charitable status, chasing shipping agents for the release of books from customs, and physically setting up the library on a shoestring budget were just some of the obstacles to work through. Despite this, Bookstop Sanaa has been riding on a wave of momentum that culminated in our official launch at the end of May 2014. So, the journey is just beginning!

Five Books of Significance in BSS Library

Inspired: Three Decades of Tanzanian Art, 2013.

This catalogue of modern and contemporary art in Tanzania is a very valuable contribution. It documents a particularly dynamic period; one that catapulted the nation’s most famous artist thus far, George Lilanga, to the international stage. Along with artwork from some of Tanzania’s most notable artists, there are also interpretative texts and rarely seen photographs of Dar es Salaam’s historic art center Nyumba ya Sanaa in its heyday. Frequented by President Julius Nyerere and visiting heads of state, it highlighted an era when art and culture were of prime national importance.

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Inspired © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Transition Magazines

We were gifted a great number of the literary and cultural magazine TRANSITION. Founded in Uganda by Rajat Neojy in 1961, the editions in our collection range from 1962 to 1974 and cover many of the epochal moments during Africa’s years of independence. From a visual art perspective it documents hard-to-find contemporary art by Tanzanian artists and articles written by Tanzania’s founding father Julius K. Nyerere. The front covers alone are exceptional for their stunning visuals.

Art in Eastern Africa, 2007

This book provides informative essays on art and material culture in eastern Africa expounded by artists, scholars and writers. It provides strong evidence against the old adage of there being no art in East Africa by demonstrating a breadth of art styles and mediums and challenging the constructs of what is considered art. A highly necessary critical anthology for the region and beyond.

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Art in Eastern Africa © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level: A Collection of Drawings, 2012

This is a vital book for a variety of people and professions. Everybody hears about the rapid pace of development in African nations. But what is happening to the multicultural buildings in these cities? How are they being recorded for posterity? Tanzania-based artist Sarah Markes has documented many of Dar es Salaam’s buildings that reflect the city’s rich mixed history of cultural heritage, be it of Swahili, German, Asian or British influence. Detailed drawings and illustrations of these sites are of great historical significance now that many of these buildings no longer exist.

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Street Level © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow, 2010

This book and magazine to accompany the National Museums in Berlin’s 2010 exhibition Who Knows Tomorrow is a literary and visual treat. The exhibition presented work that asked questions of African nations’ global positioning and weight politically, economically, socially and historically. Five internationally recognized artists of African descent displayed their work in and around a number of venues including a de-sanctified church and the National Gallery. The book contains excellent essays and articles reflecting on the artwork and issues by a range of contributors including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Dambisa Moyo. The broadsheet-sized magazine contains interviews with participating artists including El Anatsui and Zarina Bhimji and is a great magazine for the occasional library user to dip into and discover contemporary art.

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Who Knows Tomorrow © Bookstop Sanaa Art Library

Sarita Lydia Mamseri is the founder and co-director of Bookstop Sanaa Art Library.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.