Inside the Library

Contemporary Image Collective, Kairo

The library at the Contemporary Image Collective (CIC) in Cairo. © Mohamed El Maymouny
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Shuruq Harb – The Keeper (2011)

Dieses Künstlerbuch in limitierter Auflage, erhältlich in arabischer oder englischer Sprache mit unterschiedlichen Einbänden, erzählt von der Begegnung der Künstlerin mit Mustafa, einem jungen Straßenhändler in der Innenstadt von Ramallah. Mustafa, dessen Familie schon immer mit Fotografien gearbeitet hat und Bilder aus China, dem Libanon und Syrien nach Palästina bringt, lädt sich Bilder aus dem Internet herunter und verkauft sie. Das Buch stellt die Bilder zusammen, die Mustafa aus seiner Arbeit in den letzten sechs Jahren übrig geblieben sind und schaut auf wichtige Momente in der populären und politischen Geschichte Palästinas zurück. Zwischen den Seiten von jeder Ausgabe steckt eine von Mustafas originalen Bildern. Die bildende Künstlerin und Autorin Shuruq Harb lebt und arbeitet in Ramallah, Palästina.

 

Susan Sontag – On Photography (2008)
Eine Übersetzung ins Arabische von Afaf Abdelmoaty von Susan Sontags klassischer Essaysammlung über Politik und Fotografie aus dem Jahr 1977.

 

Die Kunst der Magazinierung

Rufoof, was auf Arabisch so viel heißt wie „Magazinierung“, ist ein vor Kurzem vom Contemporary Image Collective (CIC) in Kairo initiiertes Bibliothekskatalog-System. Ziel ist es, einen großen, umfassenden Online-Katalog mit Büchern der lokalen Kunstbibliotheken zu erstellen. Die ersten 4000  Publikationen sind bereits katalogisiert, und seit dem 21.  Mai ist die Plattform im Internet abrufbar.

Der Lesesaal des Contemporary Image Collective ist niemals leer. Immer sitzt dort jemand und arbeitet, oder es finden Workshops oder Gesprächsrunden statt. Die ehemalige künstlerische Leiterin des CIC, Mia Jankowicz, nannte dies den „Traum einer jeden Kunstinstitution: Menschen, die lesen und diskutieren.“ Mit Jankowicz gesprochen habe ich während ihrer letzten aktiven Wochen im CIC, das die letzten Etappen der Entwicklung von Rufoof nach ihrem Ausscheiden vollendete.

Als Jankowicz zum CIC kam, befand sich die kleine Buchsammlung in einem abgeschlossenen Raum  – obwohl es damals in Ägypten fast keinen öffentlichen Zugang zu guten zeitgenössischen Kunstbüchern gab. Drei Jahre später bilden Bibliothek und Leseraum das Herzstück der neuen Räume des CIC in der Kairoer Innenstadt. Und: Das CIC hat ein integriertes Bibliothekssystem ins Leben gerufen, mit dem die Kunstbibliotheken der Umgebung einen gemeinsamen Online-Katalog erstellen können. Das System heißt Rufoof, das arabische Wort für „Magazinierung“. Bislang wurden die Sammlungen des CIC und der Townhouse Gallery katalogisiert, die zusammen ca. 4000  Kunstbücher, Videos und Ephemera umfassen.

Das Projekt wird vom British Council finanziert, die Software wurde als Open Source mit kostenloser Beratung von der gemeinnützigen, in Kairo ansässigen Arab Digital Expression Foundation entwickelt, einem Netzwerk aus Künstlern, Erziehern, Technikfreaks und Fachleuten, die sich zusammengefunden haben, um jungen Arabern Unterstützung und Mentoring anzubieten. Nach Eingabe eines Suchwortes wie „Fotografie“ werden Hunderte von Büchern angezeigt, von der arabischen Übersetzung von Susan Sontags „On Photography“ bis hin zum wunderbaren „Memory Game“ der Arab Image Foundation. Das benutzerfreundliche System soll die Menschen in Ägypten dazu anregen, sich mehr mit Kunstbüchern zu beschäftigen. Zudem können Organisationen über Rufoof ihre Bestände verwalten und Neubestellungen durchführen. Das CIC habe jetzt bessere Argumente für Buchspenden, sagt Jankowicz, und die gestiegene Spendenbereitschaft der Menschen trage dazu bei, Lücken zu schließen, wenn beispielsweise eine Galerie wichtige Werke aufgrund der horrenden Kosten nicht anschaffen kann.

Damit andere Bibliotheken dem System möglichst einfach beitreten können, stellt ihnen das CIC ein Dokument zur Erstellung von Signaturen, eine Zeitschätzung, fachliche Beratung und ehrenamtliche Hilfe zur Verfügung. Der neue Kunst- und Ausstellungsraum Beirut von Sarah Rifky, Jens Maier-Rothe und Antonia Alampi befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe, und auch die Amerikanische Universität Kairo hat ihr Interesse bekundet. Langfristiges Ziel des CIC ist es jedoch, alle wichtigen Sammlungen Ägyptens im Kunstbereich zu versammeln. „Es gibt keinen Grund, warum nicht alle Kataloge verzeichnet sein sollten. Ich finde, die Bücher sollten als eine gemeinsame Ressource angesehen werden“, erklärt Jankowicz, die ihre Idee 2010 erstmals in den Raum gestellt hatte. „Aus der Perspektive von jemandem, der einen Ort für die Kunst betreibt, ist die Frage, ob unsere Strukturen künstlerisch relevant sind, mindestens ebenso wichtig wie die eigentlichen Inhalte, die wir vertreten.“

Mit besonderer Genugtuung erinnert sich Jankowicz daran, wie es Rufoof gelang, Geldmittel vom British Council einzuholen, nachdem das CIC dessen ehemalige Bibliothekarin Cathy Costain als Leiterin des Kunstprogramms angeworben hatte. „ADEF hatte eine Ausschreibung veröffentlicht, um digitale Projekte zu fördern. Da dachte ich mir: ‚Super! Technische Hilfe und Geld.‘ Die Gelegenheit konnte ich mir nicht nehmen lassen.“ Derzeit sind in Rufoof Titel, Autor, Standort, Format und Signatur verzeichnet, bei einigen Titeln auch weiterführende Informationen. In Zukunft sollen möglichst für alle Bücher bis zu fünf Stichwörter sowie das Thema des Werkes aufgeführt werden. Im Gespräch stellte Jankowicz außerdem heraus, dass sie unbedingt die Gestaltung der bis dato ziemlich schlichten Benutzeroberfläche verbessern wolle.

„Erstmal hast du eigentlich schon keine Lust, dich in eine solche, etwas befremdliche Kunstinstitution zu begeben. Da muss man schon sehr motiviert sein. Insofern muss das System so einfach wie möglich sein“, sagt Jankowicz. „Sobald es irgendwie kompliziert aussieht, schrecken die Leute davor zurück.“ Die Finanzierung umfasst Personal, Buchkäufe und Workshops, die beispielsweise von dem Künstler Shuruq Harb oder dem Fotografen Ronnie Close geleitet wurden  – letzterer Workshop hat sich mittlerweile zu einer Lesegruppe ausgewachsen, die sich seit über sechs Monaten regelmäßig in der Bibliothek trifft. Ganz nach Jankowicz’ Maxime, dass kostenlose Gesprächsangebote in der Bibliothek und dem CIC einen großen Zugewinn bedeuteten. Ein Anteil des Geldes, der für Neuanschaffungen vorgesehen ist, geht direkt in die Lesematerialien der Workshops. „Einer der größten Vorwürfe, die dem CIC gemacht werden, ist, dass es nicht genug auf die Bedürfnisse der Gemeinde eingehe. Unser erstes Zielpublikum sind die Künstler, und unsere Dienstleistungen sollen in erster Linie Künstlern dienen. Da sind wir sehr klar in unserer Ausrichtung. Aber ich denke, dass wir auch auf diese Kritik antworten können“, so Jankowicz. „Wir bieten der Gemeinde vor allem eine Infrastruktur. Wir sind nicht dafür zuständig, mittels künstlerischer Produktion einen bestimmten Geschmack oder Stil zu bedienen.“

 

 

Mia Jankowicz hat mittlerweile ihre Stelle als künstlerische Leiterin des Contemporary Image Collective aufgegeben, um als freiberufliche Autorin und Kuratorin zu arbeiten.

 

Jenifer Evans ist Künstlerin, Autorin ind Co – Initiatorin von Nile Sunset Annex, Cairo.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Powered by Calculate Your BMI

Inside the Library: CIC Cairo

The library at the Contemporary Image Collective (CIC) in Cairo. © Mohamed El Maymouny
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Take a look into libraries and book collections holding some of the rarer and often forgotten publications, which are nonetheless essential to the discourse on both sides of the spectrum. Featured this time: The library at the Contemporary Image Collective (CIC) in Cairo.

 

Shuruq Harb – The Keeper (2011)

This limited edition artist’s book, available in either Arabic or English with various different covers, tells the story of the artist’s encounter with Mustafa, a young street vendor in downtown Ramallah who downloads images and sells them to the public. Mustafa’s family has always worked in the photo business, bringing images from China, Lebanon, and Syria into Palestine. Compiling the images Mustafa has left over from the past six years, the book looks back at moments in contemporary Palestinian popular and political history. Each book has one of Mustafa’s original images stuck in its pages. Shuruq Harb is a visual artist and writer based in Ramallah, Palestine.

 

Susan Sontag – On Photography (2008)
An Arabic translation by Afaf Abdelmoaty of Susan Sontag’s classic 1977 collection of essays on politics and photography.

 

 

The Art of  Shelving

by Jenifer Evans

 

Rufoof, which means “shelving” in Arabic, is a recently initiated library catalogue system initiated by the Contemporary Image Collective (CIC) in Cairo. It will soon create a great, joint online catalogue with books from local art libraries. The first 4000 publications have now been catalogued and the platform will be launched on Tuesday, 21 May.

At the Contemporary Image Collective you always find someone working in the reading room, and sometimes you’ll find the space busy with a workshop or talk. It’s not far off what CIC’s erstwhile artistic director Mia Jankowicz called the “typical art institution dream of people reading and discussing.” I spoke to Jankowicz in the last few weeks of her role at CIC, which has been completing the final stages of Rufoof’s development since her departure.

When Jankowicz arrived at CIC she found its small book collection in a closed room, even as there was almost no public access to good contemporary art books in Egypt. Three years later, the library and reading room is at the center of CIC’s new space in downtown Cairo and, more crucially, CIC has pioneered an integrated library system which is enabling local art libraries to create a comprehensive, joint online catalogue. It’s called Rufoof, which means “shelving” in Arabic. So far the collections of CIC and the Townhouse gallery – altogether around 4000 art books, videos and ephemera – have been catalogued.

The project is funded by British Council Egypt, while the Cairo-based non-profit Arab Digital Expression Foundation – a network of artists, educators, techies and experts which specializes in supporting and mentoring young people in the Arab region – have developed the software as open-source, pro bono. If you a search using the keyword “photography”, you can now locate hundreds of books as diverse as an Arabic translation of Susan Sontag’s “On Photography” and the Arab Image Foundation’s beautiful “Memory Game.” Potentially, this easy-to-use system will help increase art book readership in Egypt. What’s more, Rufoof helps institutions organize what they have and ask for more. Jankowicz said that CIC can now make a more convincing case for book donations, and people’s new generosity is helping fill in gaps where prohibitive costs mean the gallery cannot buy key books.

To help other libraries join, CIC provides a document for devising call numbers, plus a time estimate, advice, and volunteers. The new space Beirut , run by Sarah Rifky, Jens Maier-Rothe, and Antonia Alampi, is next and the American University in Cairo is interested, but CIC wants all significant art-related collections in Egypt to join. “There’s no reason not to have everyone else’s catalogues on there, and to see the books as a common resource,” said Jankowicz, who first mooted the idea in 2010. “From the position of someone who runs an art space it’s always a question of how the structures we have are artistically relevant as much as the actual content of what we do.”

In what Jankowicz called a “beautiful fundraising moment”, Rufoof was able to access funds from the British Council after the institution’s former librarian, Cathy Costain, was hired as its arts programs director. “Then ADEF put out a call for supporting digital projects, so I was like ok, technological support on the one hand and money on the other – that came together really nicely.” Currently Rufoof lists title, author, location, format and call number, with more information for some titles. The plan is to consistently add up to five keywords and subject. At the time of our conversation, Jankowicz was keen to improve the look and feel of what was at that point a fairly simple interface.

“It’s already a drag to have to go and sit in a slightly alienating art institution, you’d have to be super-motivated, so you have to make it as easy as possible,” she says. “If it looks complicated it alienates people.” The funding has covered staffing, book buying, and workshops. Artist Shuruq Harb ran a workshop and one by photographer Ronnie Close became a reading group that met regularly in the library for over six months, in line with Jankowicz’s idea that free interlocution across the library and CIC programming would be a valuable asset. Some of the money for acquisitions goes on ad hoc reading materials that come out of such workshops. “I think one of the biggest criticisms of CIC is generally that it is not broadly community responsive. One of our first audiences is the artists and our first service provision is to artists, and that’s something we stick by quite clearly, but I feel like this project answers those critics quite well,” said Jankowicz. “I want to think of community provision on the level of infrastructure, rather than it being a preferred taste or style of artistic production.”

 

Mia Jankowicz has now left the position as artistic director of Contemporary Image Collective to pursue freelance writing and curating.

Jenifer Evans is an artist, writer and co-initiator of Nile Sunset Annex, Cairo.

 

 

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.