Inside the Library II: Stuart Hall Library, Iniva, London

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Werfen Sie einen Blick in die Bibliotheken und Büchersammlungen, die einige der selteneren und oft vergessenen Veröffentlichungen bewahren, die nichtsdestotrotz wichtig für die kritische Betrachtung aller Seiten eines Spektrums sind. Diesmal ein Bericht über: The Stuart Hall Library im Iniva (Institute of International Visual Arts) in London.

 

Ethiopian Artists (1991) by T?yé T?dasa

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa

 

 

Berhanu Ashagrie Deribew berichtet C&:

“Ich erhielt dieses Buch als Belohnung für meine Teilnahme an einem Kunstwettbewerb, der hier stattgefunden, als ich ungefähr 13 Jahre alt war. Gleichwohl wurde das Buch dank der bedeutenden Mitwirkung und grosszügigen Unterstützung eines Ausländers veröffentlicht, der zu dieser Zeit hier in Äthiopien war. Er wollte einfach eine Sammlung von Biographien äthiopischer Künstler besitzen, die in den Jahren zwischen 1869 und 1957 lebten und arbeiteten. Auch wenn das Buch nicht als eine kritische Ausführung erstellt war, kann ich nur sagen, dass es aus einem entscheidenden Grund wichtig ist: es ist das einzige Buch, das wir noch besitzen, in dem die Biographien und Arbeiten vieler äthiopischer Künstler überhaupt noch gefunden werden können. Es entspricht den Tatsachen, dass viele Bücher und Kataloge über moderne und zeitgenössische äthiopische Künstler im Laufe der Zeit veröffentlicht wurden, aber in keinem von ihnen wird eine so große Anzahl von Künstlern wie in diesem speziellen Buch behandelt. Das Buch präsentiert äthiopische Künstler, die in einer Zeitspanne von fast einem Jahrhundert gearbeitet haben und es dient bis heute wirklich als umfassendes Nachschlagewerk für viele junge Äthiopier, die etwas über die historischen Verstrickungen der äthiopischen Künstler erfahren wollen. Einige der Künstler, die in diesem Buch genannt sind, sind heute noch am Leben, arbeiten im In- und Ausland, und ein paar von ihnen sind noch sehr bedeutsam, sogar für die jüngste Geschichte der äthiopischen Kunst. ”

 

Ethiopian Artists (1991) by T?yé T?dasa

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa

 

Über die Stuart Hall Library:

Die Stuart Hall Library ist eine Quelle wertvoller Referenzen für Studenten, Forscher und alle interessierten Leser, und sie ist eine der führenden britischen Bibliotheken auf dem Gebiet der internationalen bildenden Kunst. Die Bibliothek umfasst eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Monographien, Kataloge, Zeitschriften, DVDs, CDs, Dias und anderen Medien über visuelle Kunst und Kultur. Die Sammlung verfügt über besondere Stärken in den Bereichen der afrikanischen, asiatischen und lateinamerikanischen Kunst, sowie der britischen Kunst von Künstlern aus unterschiedlichen kulturellen Hintergründen. Die Sammlung umfasst mehr als 4.000 Ausstellungskataloge, 1.000 Monographien – die kulturelle, politische, Geschlechter- und Medienwissenschaften behandeln – sowie über 140 Zeitschriften.

www.iniva.org/library

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Inside the Library II: Stuart Hall Library, Iniva, London

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Take a look into libraries and book collections holding some of the rarer and often forgotten publications, which are nonetheless essential to the discourse on both sides of the spectrum. Featured this time: The Stuart Hall Library at Iniva  (Institute of International Visual Arts) in London.

 

Ethiopian Artists (1991) by T?yé T?dasa

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa

 

 

Berhanu Ashagrie Deribew tells C&:

“I was given this book as a reward for my participation in an art competition which took place here when I was about 13 years old. In general terms, the book was published thanks to the major involvement and full support of a foreigner who was here in Ethiopia during that time. He just wanted to have a collection of biographies of Ethiopian artists that lived and worked during the years between 1869 and 1957. Even though the book was not prepared in a critical format, I can simply say that it is special for one major reason: it is the only book that we still have in which the biographies and work of many Ethiopian artists can even be found. It is a fact that lots of books and catalogues about modern and contemporary Ethiopian artists have been published over time, but none of them have covered such a large number of artists as can be found in that specific book. The book covers Ethiopian artists who worked over nearly a century and it has truly served as a comprehensive reference book for many young Ethiopians who want to know about the historical involvements of Ethiopian artists. Some of the artists referred to in this book are still alive today, working in the country and abroad, and a few of them are still very important, even for the recent history of Ethiopian art.”

Ethiopian Artists (1991) by T?yé T?dasa

Short Biographies of Some Ethiopian Artists (1991) by Tāyé Tādasa

About  Stuart Hall Library:

The Stuart Hall Library is a valuable reference resource for students, researchers, and all interested readers and is one of the leading UK libraries in the field of international visual art.  The library holds a  substantial collection of monographs, catalogues, periodicals, DVDs, CDs, slides, and other media on visual arts and culture.  The collection has particular strengths in African, Asian, and Latin American art, as well as British art from artists of diverse cultural backgrounds. The  collection includes over 4,000 exhibition catalogues, 1,000 monographs – covering cultural, political, gender, and media studies – and over 140 periodicals.

 

www.iniva.org/library