Inside the Library

La Boîte à Idée, Dakar

La Boîte à Idée
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

La Boîte à Idée

La Boîte à Idée (Ideenkasten) ist ein kleines Haus im Zentrum von Gueule Tapée, einem Arbeiterviertel in Dakar. Seit fast zwei Jahren lebe ich in diesem Haus, ein Ort des Teilens, das allen offen steht. Dieser Ort ist stets im Wandel, abhängig von der Tageszeit und von den Menschen, die sich hier einfinden. Der Raum hat sich auch über die Jahre entwickelt, sowie aufgrund der Arbeiten, die hier realisiert worden sind.

Ich hatte Lust, diesen Raum des Lebens und des Arbeitens zu öffnen, damit Kulturinteressierte, Neugierige und auch solche, die sich einfach hierher verirren, mit mir einen Kaffee trinken und dabei die Wakh’Art-Welt erleben können. Der Name ist Programm: Der Austausch und die Begegnungen, die an diesem kreativen Ort stattfinden, haben eine Vielzahl von Projekten hervorgebracht. Das Haus ist auch zu einem Ausstellungsort geworden und beherbergt verschiedene Arbeiten von Künstlern, mit denen ich zusammen gearbeitet habe, oder die mir einfach ihre Werke geschenkt haben.
Heute möchte ich euch aber einige Arbeiten vorstellen, die mir besonders am Herz liegen – aufgrund ihrer Geschichte, ihres Inhalts oder einfach weil sie aufgetaucht sind, als ich sie besonders nötig hatte.
Willkommen in meiner Bibliothek.

 

La Boîte à Idée

Die Boîte à Idée-Bibliothek hat die Besonderheit, in drei Plattformen aufgeteilt zu sein.
Die erste Plattform versammelt verschiedene Bücher, vom neuesten Roman von Charlotte Seck, Jusqu’à ce que l’éternité nous sépare, bis hin zum Katalog der Dakar-Biennale 2012, von der Anthologie négro-africaine über Arènes Sénégalaises/Senegalese Wrestling Rings von Matar Ndour bis hin zum Gedichtband Lumières de la Renaissance von Thierno Niang. Über der Büchersammlung hängt eine Arbeit von Fred Ebami, die aus unserer Zusammenarbeit während der Dakar-Biennale 2012 entstanden ist.

Die zweite Plattform beinhaltet verschiedene Frauenzeitschriften aus der Region. Man findet hier solche Titel wie Actu’elle und Elixir, aber auch internationale Zeitschriften für Design und Inneneinrichtung, wie Elle Déco, IDEAT oder Maison et Décoration. Hier und da verstreut liegen auch Flyer und Visitenkarten von Künstlern, die auf der Durchreise hier vorbeigeschaut haben. Es gibt auch Nachrichtenmagazine wie Le Monde Magazine oder Le Courrier International.

Und schließlich meine Lieblingsplattform: Hier stelle ich Werke oder Kataloge von Künstlern aus, die ich über meine Kulturplattform Wakh’Art kennen gelernt habe. Man findet Kataloge von senegalesischen Künstlern wie Solly Cissé, Ousmane Sow, El Hadji Sy oder Ndoye Douts, aber auch eine gute Anzahl von Arbeiten Berliner oder madagassischer Künstler. Einige Kunstmagazine gehören auch zu dieser kleinen Sammlung, namentlich Beaux-Arts, Muze, eine Sonderausgabe zu Gustave Courbet, oder Black Style. Zudem werden Alben von Künstlern aus der Region präsentiert. Momentan gibt es die Kompilation En attendant l’Album von Rosso und die erste Platte von Flexy Jilly. So sind Werke aus der ganzen Welt für alle zugänglich. Unter der sorgfältigen Aufsicht von Aicha, der Stoffpuppe, können Jung und Alt ihre Freude daran haben.

La Boîte à Idée

Ich liebe meine Bibliothek, und es macht mir großes Vergnügen und eine unheimliche Freude, die Jugendlichen vom Viertel oder Angestellte nach der Arbeit sich in diesen Büchern verlieren zu sehen. Um den Bestand dieser kleinen Sammlung zu schützen, dürfen die Werke vor Ort eingesehen, aber nicht mit nach Hause genommen werden!

 

 

SY Ken Aicha, ausgebildete Designerin, lebt in Dakar und arbeitet als Kulturschaffende. Sie ist zudem Gründerin und künstlerische Leiterin der Kunstplattform Wakh’Art.

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Powered by Calculate Your BMI

Inside the Library: La Boîte à Idée, Dakar

La Boîte à Idée
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Take a look into libraries and book collections holding some of the rarer and often forgotten publications, which are nonetheless essential to the discourse on both sides of the spectrum. Featured this time: the library of La Boîte à Idée in Dakar.

 

La Boîte à Idée

by SY Ken Aicha

 

La Boîte à idées (the Idea Box) is a little house nestled in the heart of Gueule Tapée, a working-class neighborhood in Dakar. I have been living in this house for almost two years now. It is a place for sharing ideas and is open to everyone. La Boîte à idées is a different place depending on the time of day or the people who find their way here. The space has also evolved over time and as a function of the kinds of projects that have been realized on its premises.

I opened the doors to this living and working space to allow people interested in culture, the curious, or those who simply wander in to participate in the Wakh’Art universe over a cup of coffee. True to its name, La Boîte à idées has hosted numerous encounters and exchanges, which have given birth to an abundance of projects in this creative space. The house also functions as an exhibition venue, housing different works by artists with whom I have collaborated or who have simply given me pieces.

Today I would like to share with you some of the works that are particularly important to me – because of their history, their content, or simply because they arrived at a moment when I needed them most.

Allow me to introduce you to my library.

 

La Boîte à Idée

La Boîte à Idée

 

The Boîte à Idées library is divided into three platforms.

The first platform brings together different works, from Charlotte Seck’s latest novel, Jusqu’à ce que l’éternité nous sépare, to the 2012 Dakar Biennale catalogue, from L’Anthologie négro- africaine to Matar Ndour’s Senegalese Wrestling Rings or Thierno Niang’s poetry collection Lumières de la Renaissance. The books are displayed beneath a piece by Fred Ebami, the result of our collaboration during the 2012 Dakar Biennale.

The second platform is comprised of local women’s magazines. Here you can find Actu’elle and Elixir, but also certain international design and interior decorating publications, such as Elle Déco, IDEAT, or Maison et Décoration. You can also find, scattered here and there, flyers and business cards left by artists who have passed through. There are also news magazines like Le Monde Magazine or Le Courrier International.

The third platform is my favorite. This is where I display works or catalogues donated by artists I’ve met through my cultural platform Wakh’Art. There are catalogues from Senegalese artists such as Solly Cissé, Ousmane Sow, El Hadji Sy, and Ndoye Douts, as well as a good number of works by artists from Berlin and Madagascar. A few art magazines are also part of this little collection, notably Beaux-Arts, Muze, a special issue on Gustave Courbet, and Black Style. The library also has some albums by local artists; currently you’ll find Rosso’s compilation En attendant l’Album and Flexy Jilly’s first record. Works from around the world are made available here to everyone, for young and old to enjoy, under the watchful eye of Aicha, the rag doll.

 

La Boîte à Idée

La Boîte à Idée

 

 

I love my library and it is a great pleasure and joy for me to see young people from the neighborhood or executives on their way home from work getting lost in the books. In order to protect this small collection, the works can be viewed at Boîte à idées but cannot be checked out.

 

 SY Ken Aicha is a trained graphic designer and cultural producer based in Dakar. She is the founder and artistic director of the cultural platform Wakh’art.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.