Making Art Global (Part 2): Magiciens de la Terre 1989

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Im Jahr 1989 brachte eine Ausstellung in Paris die Arbeiten von über hundert Künstlern zusammen. Da nur die Hälfte von ihnen aus dem „Westen“ kam, stellte die Schau eine radikale Infragestellung des westlichen Kunstsystems dar. „Magiciens de la Terre“ bezog Stellung für die Universalität des kreativen Impulses und präsentierte zeitgenössische Kunstwerke aus der ganzen Welt auf einer gleichberechtigten Art und Weise, mit dem Ziel, unmittelbare ästhetische Erfahrungen möglich zu machen. 

 

Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989 ist eine neue, bei Afterall erschienene Publikation, die ihren Fokus mit vielen Abbildungen und Texten auf die legendäre Pariser Ausstellung richtet. Das neue Buch ergänzt den Band Making Art Global (Part 1): The Third Havana Biennial 1989  und enthält Beiträge von Pablo Lafuente und Jean-Marc Poinsot, erstmals veröffentlichte Essays von Jean-Hubert Martin und Gayatri Spivak, Reaktionen von Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, Alfredo Jaar und Barbara Kruger sowie Archivtexte von Rasheed Araeen, Jean Fisher und Thomas McEvilley.

Jean-Hubert Martins 1986 verfasstes kuratorisches Statement zur drei Jahre später stattfindenden Show wird  exklusiv in Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989 abgedruckt. 1986 hatte Martin den ersten von zwei Orten für seine Ausstellung gesichert, die Grande Halle de La Villette. Eine überarbeitete Fassung des Statements wurde 1989 als Teil des Pressematerials für die Ausstellung gedruckt.

Speziell für C& hat Martin einen Auszug aus dem Statement ausgesucht:

 

Die Kunst lebt vom Tod der Kunst

Jean Hubert Martin

Die Idee des Kunstwerks ist eine spezifische Erfindung unserer Kultur. Viele Kulturen kennen sie nicht. Gleichwohl stellen auch solche Kulturen visuelle und statische Objekte her, deren wesentliche Bestimmung es ist, den Geist zu transportieren.

Es ist dieses geistige Potenzial, das sowohl heiligen oder magischen Objekten wie auch unseren Kunstwerken innewohnt, welches die Ausstellung „Magiciens de la Terre“ beleuchten möchte. Zu viele künstlerische Aktivitäten sind heute auf intensive Produktivität ausgerichtet, welche dazu tendiert, die eigentlichen geistigen Werte zu entwerten. Die Ausstellung wird Künstler aus aller Welt miteinander konfrontieren, und nicht nur aus den entwickelten kapitalistischen Ländern. Die Künstler werden als Individuen auftreten, die natürlich aus einer bestimmten Kultur kommen, aber keinen Staat und keine Nation repräsentieren.

 

Die aktuelle Lage der westlichen Kunst

Die Philosophie Hegels postulierte das Ende der Kunst aufgrund der Schwächung des religiösen Glaubens. Doch die Produktion von Kunstwerken reißt nicht ab. Ohne von einer Religion der Kunst reden zu wollen, ist trotzdem zu beobachten, dass dieses Aktivitätsfeld, diese Disziplin, in unserer Gesellschaft den Platz einnimmt, der dem Spirituellen oder dem Metaphysischen zukommt, der das Materielle oder Rationale transzendiert.

Es ist schon paradox zu beobachten, wie Künstler „offene Werke“ (im Sinne Umberto Ecos) schaffen, deren Bedeutung von den Beobachtern gestiftet werden soll, oder gar Arbeiten, die absichtlich inhaltsleer sind. Manche Werke greifen archaische Muster auf in einer scheinbaren Nachahmung sogenannter „primitiver“ Werke, als ob sie einem verlorenen Sinn nachspürten. Die Arbeiten, die absichtlich leer bleiben, wollen sich offensichtlich der Sprache widersetzen, über das einfache Spiel der Interpretationen hinausgehen, um ein Absolutes, das der Form und der Farbe, zu erlangen. Der hohe finanzielle Wert vieler dieser Werke in unserer Gesellschaft, in der Geld ein wesentliches Kriterium ist, führt vor, dass man sich hier auch der Ratio widersetzt. Wenn es für die, die sich mit diesen Praktiken beschäftigen, keine Magie hinter deren teilweise sehr materialistischen Erscheinungsbildern gäbe, wie ließen sich diese Preisexplosionen und Investitionen erklären?

(…)

 

Die aktuelle Lage der Kunst außerhalb der westlichen Welt

Der Begriff des Relativismus, der eine solch herausragende Rolle im Denken dieses Jahrhunderts spielt, hat im Bereich der bildenden Kunst bislang keinen Fuß gefasst. Die Replik darauf ist wohl bekannt: Unsere westlichen Künstler haben sehr wohl ein Verständnis von den Qualitäten der sogenannten „primitiven“ Kunst und machten in der ersten Hälfte des Jahrhunderts guten Gebrauch davon. Seitdem sind unsere gesellschaftlichen Strukturen der Dritten Welt derartig aufgezwungen worden, dass sie alles zerstört oder zumindest degradiert haben. Vor lauter Betroffenheitsbekundungen darüber haben wir es versäumt, genau hinzuschauen, um zu entdecken, was dort wirklich passiert.

Zu hastig hat man die Ideen Hegels über das allmähliche Verschwinden der traditionellen Religionen und der damit einhergehende Tod der Kunst auf nichtwestliche Kulturen übertragen. Andererseits soll unser evolutionärer Kunstbegriff mit künstlerischen Praktiken, die auf Traditionen und der Wiederholung von Mustern basieren, inkompatibel sein. Diese Behauptung muss differenziert werden. Abgesehen davon, dass das Streben nach Neuheit und das Erfinden zu unserer Tradition gehören, muss man sich heute von einem Verständnis der Kunstgeschichte distanzieren, das sich allein an Brüchen orientiert. War der berühmte Bruch Cézannes, zum Beispiel, wirklich in dem Maße bedeutend, wie stets behauptet? Man kann die Kunstgeschichte genauso gut als eine der Dauerhaftigkeit betrachten – nicht als eine lineare Kontinuität, aber als eine Reihe von Rückgriffen auf verschüttete Traditionen, als das Wiedererscheinen von symbolischen Zeichen und Werten, die der Geschichte der Menschheit gehören und nicht zwangsläufig der Kunstgeschichte.

Die Voraussetzungen sind unterschiedlich, die Kontexte auch, aber wenn man die großen kulturellen Erzählungen beiseitelässt und nach dem schöpferischen Akt des Künstlers als Individuum fragt, ist die Kluft vielleicht gar nicht so weit. Auf dieser Ebene gibt es möglicherweise gemeinsame Nenner: die Motivationen, die ein Individuum zum Schaffen bewegen und die formalen Entscheidungen, anhand derer er seine Freiheit ausübt. Sobald der Künstler einer Idee Form gibt, verblassen die Unterschiede zwischen dem Respekt für die Tradition und der Lust an Innovation. Ein Thangkamaler aus Nepal oder Tibet setzt seinen ganzen Glauben in sein Werk. Seine eigenen religiösen Überzeugungen oder seine Interpretationen der Glaubenssätze können ihn dazu verleiten, die vorgegebenen Muster zu modifizieren. Es kann also eine Entwicklung geben, auch wenn sie sehr langsam ist. Ein westlicher Künstler, der seit 20 Jahren die gleiche Form malt, macht dagegen nichts anderes, als das von ihm selbst festgelegte Muster zu wiederholen.

 

Der Kunsthistoriker Jean-Hubert Martin war Direktor der Kunsthalle Bern, des Musée national d’art moderne im Centre Pompidou, des Musée national des arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie in Paris und des Museums Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf, sowie künstlerischer Direktor des Château d’Oiron und des Padiglione d’Arte Contemporanea in Mailand. Sein Interesse an nicht-westlichen Kulturen führte zur Konzeption von Ausstellungen, die Grenzen überwinden, indem sie heterogene Arbeiten miteinander konfrontieren und so den Blick auf sie erneuern (Magiciens de la terre, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 1989, Artempo, Museo Fortuny, Venedig, 2007 und Theater Of The World, MONA, Hobart, 2012). Er kuratierte oder beteiligte sich kuratorisch an vielen Biennalen (Sydney, São Paulo, Lyon, Moskau, Venedig) und großangelegte Ausstellungen: Paris – Berlin (1978), Paris – Moskau (1979), Une image peut en cacher une autre (2009), Dalí (2012).

Aus dem Englischen: Millay Hyatt

Der gesamte Text ist erschienen in: Lucy Steeds et al., Making Art Global (Part 2): ‚Magiciens de la Terre‘ 1989, London: Afterall Books in association with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College and Van Abbemuseum, 2013, S. 216–22.

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Powered by Calculate Your BMI

Making Art Global (Part 2): Magiciens de la Terre 1989

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

In 1989, an exhibition in Paris united the work of over a hundred artists. Since only half of them could be described as “Western,” the show radically challenged the Western art system from within. Magiciens de la Terre argued for the universality of the creative impulse and endeavored to offer a direct aesthetic experience of contemporary works of art made globally and presented on equal terms.

Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989  is a new publication by Afterall focussing on that important show.

The publication is a companion to Making Art Global (Part 1): The Third Havana Biennial 1989 and includes contributions by Pablo Lafuente and Jean-Marc Poinsot, previously unpublished essays by Jean-Hubert Martin and Gayatri Spivak, responses from Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, Alfredo Jaar, and Barbara Kruger, and archival texts by Rasheed Araeen, Jean Fisher, and Thomas McEvilley.

The following text is an excerpt selected by Jean-Hubert Martin for C& from his curatorial statement for Magiciens de la Terre, written in 1986, and now exclusively published in 2013 in Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989. 1986 was the year when Martin secured the first of the two venues for the exhibition, the Grande Halle de La Villette. A revised version of this statement was issued in 1989 as part of the press material for the exhibition. This previously unpublished text is a translation from French (translator unknown):

 

The Death of Art – Long Live Art, 1986

Jean-Hubert Martin

The very idea of a ‘work of art’ is a particular invention of our culture. Many other societies have no such concept. And yet these other cultures also create visual, static objects which function as receptacles of spirit.

It is this spiritual potential that inheres both in magic and sacred objects as well as in our works of art that the ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ exhibition wants to explore. Too much art today is given over to intensive production which tends to obscure any spiritual value. The exhibition will bring together artists from all over the world, not just from developed, capitalist countries. The artists will be presented as individuals in their own right – coming from their own particular cultures, of course, but not as representatives of a state or a nation.

 

The Present State of Western Art

Hegelian philosophy postulated the death of art as a result of the weakening of religious belief. Yet the production of works of art has in no way diminished. Without wanting to go so far as to think of art as its own religion in itself, it nevertheless seems that this realm of activity, this discipline, has taken the place once occupied by the spiritual and the metaphysical – that which transcends the material and the rational.

It is no small paradox now to see artists create ‘open’ works (to use Umberto Eco’s expression), leaving the audience to invest them with meaning, and even to create works that are deliberately meaningless. Some works revert to ancient archetypes, as if to mimic so-called ‘primitive’ art in an apparent attempt to discover lost meaning. Clearly, deliberately meaningless works are seeking to defy language, to go beyond the simplistic game of interpretation and to achieve an absolute, that of form and colour. The financial value of many of these works in our society, in which money is an essential standard, demonstrates that it is reason itself that is being defied here. If those who have to do with these often apparently very materialistic practices do not see some magic behind them, how are we to explain the soaring prices, the rush to invest?

[…]

 

The State of Art Outside the Western World

The concept of relativism, ever-present in twentieth-century thought, has as yet no role in the field of the visual arts. The answer to this is well-known: our Western artists are well aware of the possibilities offered by so-called ‘primitive’ art and made ample use of them in the first half of the century. Since then the imposition of Western codes of behaviour upon the Third World has destroyed or at least contaminated everything; and in our eagerness to chastise ourselves we failed to go and see what was really happening.

We have hastily grafted the Hegelian notions of the disappearance of traditional religion and the consequent death of art onto non-Western cultures. On the other hand, our evolutionary conception of art is said to be incompatible with artistic practices based on tradition and the repetition of established models. This statement needs qualifying: besides the fact that invention and the pursuit of novelty is part of our tradition, it is time to move away from a view of the history of art as a series of ruptures. In the well-known case of Cézanne, for example, was his rupture with the past really as significant as it is made out to be? It is equally valid to see art history in terms of its permanence – not as a continued linear development but as a revival of lost traditions, of signs and symbols belonging to the history of humanity and not necessarily to the history of art.

The premises are different and so are the contexts, but, if we set aside the grand cultural narratives and looks rather at the working of the creative impulse in the artist as an individual, the gap seems less wide. It is here that we may find common denominators: the motivation that drives an individual to create, and the series of formal decisions with which he exercises his freedom. When the artist gives form to his idea, the difference between the respect for tradition and the urge to innovate becomes blurred. A Nepalese or Tibetan thangka painter puts his entire faith into his work. He may make some modifications to traditional models according to his own religious beliefs or interpretation of the articles of faith, and so development becomes possible, even if it is very slow. By contrast, a Western artist who goes on painting the same forms for twenty years is doing nothing but reproducing a model of his own devising.

 

Art historian Jean-Hubert Martin has served as director of the Kunsthalle Bern,  the National Museum of Modern Art at the Centre Pompidou, the Musée national des arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie in Paris, and the Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf. He was also artistic director at Château d’Oiron and the Pavilion of Contemporary Art in Milan. His interest in non-Western cultures has led him to conceive exhibitions that break down barriers by bringing together heterogeneous works, thereby transforming the way we look at them (Magiciens de la terre, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 1989, Artempo, Museo Fortuny, Venice, 2007, and Theater Of The World, MONA, Hobart, 2012). He has curated or been involved in curating numerous biennales (Sydney, São Paulo, Lyon, Moscow, Venice) and large-scale exhibitions: Paris – Berlin (1978), Paris – Moscow (1979), One image may hide another (2009), Dalí (2012).

 

 

The whole text is published in Lucy Steeds et al., Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989, London: Afterall Books in association with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College and Van Abbemuseum, 2013, pp.216–22.

 

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.