Making Art Global (Part 2): Magiciens de la Terre 1989

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

En 1989, une exposition organisée à Paris a réuni les oeuvres de plus d’une centaine d’artistes et vu que seule la moitié d’entre eux avait été décrits comme des artistes « occidentaux », cet événement  a radicalement transformé le système artistique occidental de l’intérieur. ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ promouvait l’universalité de l’impulsion créatrice et tentait d’offrir une expérience artistique directe d’œuvres d’art contemporaines réalisées à l’échelle mondiale et présentées sur un pied d’égalité.

‘Making art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989’ a été publié par Afterall et se concentre sur ce show important.  La publication constitue la suite de Making Art Global (Part 1): The Third Havana Biennial 1989 et inclut des articles de Pablo Lafuente et de Jean-Marc Poinsot, des essais inédits de Jean-Hubert Martin et de Gayatri Spivak, des réponses de Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, Alfredo Jaar et de Barbara Kruger, ainsi que des textes d’archives de Rasheed Araeen, Jean Fisher et de Thomas McEvilley.

Le texte qui va suivre est un extrait que Jean-Hubert Martin a sélectionné tout particulièrement pour C&. Il est issu de la déclaration qu’il a faite en tant que commissaire de l’exposition ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ produite en 1986 et publiée en exclusivité dans Making art Global (Part 2) : ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989. L’année 1986 était celle où Martin a obtenu le premier des deux lieux pour l’exposition,  la Grande Halle de La Villette. Une version révisée de cette déclaration a été publiée en 1989 pour le dossier de presse fourni lors de l’exposition:

La mort de l’art, l’art en vit

La nation d’oeuvre d’art est une invention spécifique à notre culture. Beaucoup de sociétés ne la connaissent pas. Les autres cultures n’en créent pas moins des objets visuels et statiques qui ont pour propriété essentielle d’être des réceptacles de l’esprit. C’est ce potentiel spirituel, imprégnant aussi bien des objets sacrés ou magiques que nos oeuvres d’art, que l’exposition Magiciens de la Terre veut mettre en valeur. Trop d’activités artistiques sont aujourd’hui orientées vers une production intensive qui a tendance à oblitérer les valeurs proprement spirituelles. L’exposition sera une confrontation entre les artistes venant du monde entier et pas seulement des pays capitalistes développés. Les artistes y seront présentés en tant qu’individus issus bien entendu de facto de leur culture mais non en tant que représentants d’un état et d’une nation.

Situation de l’art occidental

La philosophie hégélienne postulait la mort de l’art, causée par l’affaiblissement de la croyance religieuse. Or la production d’oeuvres d’art a quand même continué. Sans aller jusqu’à parler d’une religion de l’art, il n’en reste pas moins que ce terrain d’activité, cette discipline tient dans notre société la place dévolue au spirituel ou au métaphysique, à ce qui transcende le matériel ou le rationnel. Le moindre des paradoxes n’est pas de voir des artistes créer des oeuvres ouvertes (selon l’expression d’Umberto Eco) en attente d’un sens donné par les spectateurs, mais même des oeuvres volontairement vides. Certaines oeuvres en reprenant des schémas archaïques semblent vouloir mimer des oeuvres dites “primitives“. Elles paraissent de ce fait vouloir partir à la recherche d’un sens perdu. Quant aux oeuvres qui se veulent vides, sans doute cherchent-elles à défier le langage, à dépasser le jeu facile des interprétations pour tenter d’atteindre un absolu qui serait celui de la forme et de la couleur. La valeur monétaire, acquise par maintes oeuvres dans notre société dont c’est un critère essentiel, prouve bien qu’il s’agit là d’un défi à l’entendement. S’il n’y avait, pour ceux qui les manipulent, de la magie derrière ces pratiques parfois d’apparence très matérialiste, comment expliquer ces flambées et ces investissements?

Situation de l’art en dehors du monde occidental

La notion de relativité, si présente dans toute la pensée de ce siècle, achoppe jusqu’à présent dans le domaine des arts visuels. La parade est bien connue : les artistes occidentaux, les nôtres, ont parfaitement eu conscience des qualités des arts dits “primitifs“ et s’en sont amplement servis durant la première moitié du siècle. Depuis, le déferlement des structures de notre société a été tel dans le Tiers Monde qu’il aurait tout détruit ou au moins avili. Et chacun de s’empresser de faire un mea culpa attristé, qui évite d’aller y voir ou de faire preuve de curiosité. On s’accorde à transposer rapidement les idées hégéliennes sur la disparition progressive des religions traditionelles et par conséquent de la mort de l’art sur les sociétés non occidentales.

D’autre part, notre conception évolutionniste de l’art serait incompatible avec des pratiques artistiques reposant sur la tradition et sur la répétition de modèles. Cette affirmation doit être nuancée. Outre le fait que la course à la nouveauté, l’invention font partie de notre tradition, on doit aujourd’hui se distancier d’une conception de l’histoire de l’art qui ne fonctionne qu’à partir de ruptures. La fameuse rupture cézannienne était-elle aussi importante qu’on le dit ? On peut tout aussi bien voir l’histoire de l’art sous l’angle de la permanence. Il ne s’agit pas forcément d’une continuité linéaire, mais de reprises de traditions enfouies, de résurgences de signes et de valeurs symboliques appartenant à l’histoire de l’humanité et pas forcément à l’histoire de l’art.

Les prémisses sont différentes, les contextes également, mais si l’on fait abstraction des grands discours culturels, et si l’on s’interroge sur le fonctionnement de l’acte créateur chez l’artiste en tant qu’individu, peut-être le fossé n’est-il plus aussi large. C’est á ce stade qu’il pourrait y avoir des dénominateurs communs : les motivations qui poussent un individu à créer et la série de décisions formelles où il engage sa liberté. Lorsque l’artiste donne forme à une pensée, les différences entre la respect de la tradition et le goût de l’innovation peuvent s’estomper. Un peintre de thangkas népalais ou tibétain investit toute sa foi dans son oeuvre. Il peut être amené à opérer des modifications par rapport à ses modèles en fonction de ses propres convictions religieuses ou de son interprétation du dogme. Il peut donc y avoir évolution, même si elle est très lente. A l’opposé, lorsqu’un artiste occidental peint la même forme depuis 20 ans, il ne fait que répéter un modèle qu’il s’est fixé.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you agree to Vimeos’s privacy policy.

Load video

Jean-Hubert Martin, licencié en histoire de l’art, fut directeur de la Kunsthalle de Berne, du Musée national d’art moderne du Centre Pompidou, du Musée national des arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie de Paris et du Museum Kunst Palast de Düsseldorf. Il a dirigé les programmes artistiques du Château d’Oiron et du Padiglione d’Arte Contemporanea à Milan. Son intérêt pour les cultures non occidentales l’a conduit à concevoir des expositions décloisonnées en confrontant des œuvres  de caractère hétérogène et à favoriser ainsi un renouvellement du regard (Magiciens de la terre , Paris Centre Pompidou, 1989, Artempo, Museo Fortuny, Venise, 2007 et Theater Of The World, MONA, Hobart, 2012). Il a été commissaire pour de nombreuses biennales ( Sydney, San Paulo, Lyon, Moscou, Venise) et expositions d’envergure : Paris – Berlin (1978), Paris – Moscou (1979), , Une image peut en cacher une autre (2009), Dali (2012).

L’ensemble du texte est publié chez Lucy Steeds et al., Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989, Londres: Afterall Books en association avec l’Académie des beaux-arts de Vienne, le Center for Curatorial Studies, le Bard College et le Van Abbemuseum, 2013, pp.216–22. www.afterall.org

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Powered by Calculate Your BMI

Making Art Global (Part 2): Magiciens de la Terre 1989

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

In 1989, an exhibition in Paris united the work of over a hundred artists. Since only half of them could be described as “Western,” the show radically challenged the Western art system from within. Magiciens de la Terre argued for the universality of the creative impulse and endeavored to offer a direct aesthetic experience of contemporary works of art made globally and presented on equal terms.

Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989  is a new publication by Afterall focussing on that important show.

The publication is a companion to Making Art Global (Part 1): The Third Havana Biennial 1989 and includes contributions by Pablo Lafuente and Jean-Marc Poinsot, previously unpublished essays by Jean-Hubert Martin and Gayatri Spivak, responses from Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, Alfredo Jaar, and Barbara Kruger, and archival texts by Rasheed Araeen, Jean Fisher, and Thomas McEvilley.

The following text is an excerpt selected by Jean-Hubert Martin for C& from his curatorial statement for Magiciens de la Terre, written in 1986, and now exclusively published in 2013 in Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989. 1986 was the year when Martin secured the first of the two venues for the exhibition, the Grande Halle de La Villette. A revised version of this statement was issued in 1989 as part of the press material for the exhibition. This previously unpublished text is a translation from French (translator unknown):

 

The Death of Art – Long Live Art, 1986

Jean-Hubert Martin

The very idea of a ‘work of art’ is a particular invention of our culture. Many other societies have no such concept. And yet these other cultures also create visual, static objects which function as receptacles of spirit.

It is this spiritual potential that inheres both in magic and sacred objects as well as in our works of art that the ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ exhibition wants to explore. Too much art today is given over to intensive production which tends to obscure any spiritual value. The exhibition will bring together artists from all over the world, not just from developed, capitalist countries. The artists will be presented as individuals in their own right – coming from their own particular cultures, of course, but not as representatives of a state or a nation.

 

The Present State of Western Art

Hegelian philosophy postulated the death of art as a result of the weakening of religious belief. Yet the production of works of art has in no way diminished. Without wanting to go so far as to think of art as its own religion in itself, it nevertheless seems that this realm of activity, this discipline, has taken the place once occupied by the spiritual and the metaphysical – that which transcends the material and the rational.

It is no small paradox now to see artists create ‘open’ works (to use Umberto Eco’s expression), leaving the audience to invest them with meaning, and even to create works that are deliberately meaningless. Some works revert to ancient archetypes, as if to mimic so-called ‘primitive’ art in an apparent attempt to discover lost meaning. Clearly, deliberately meaningless works are seeking to defy language, to go beyond the simplistic game of interpretation and to achieve an absolute, that of form and colour. The financial value of many of these works in our society, in which money is an essential standard, demonstrates that it is reason itself that is being defied here. If those who have to do with these often apparently very materialistic practices do not see some magic behind them, how are we to explain the soaring prices, the rush to invest?

[…]

 

The State of Art Outside the Western World

The concept of relativism, ever-present in twentieth-century thought, has as yet no role in the field of the visual arts. The answer to this is well-known: our Western artists are well aware of the possibilities offered by so-called ‘primitive’ art and made ample use of them in the first half of the century. Since then the imposition of Western codes of behaviour upon the Third World has destroyed or at least contaminated everything; and in our eagerness to chastise ourselves we failed to go and see what was really happening.

We have hastily grafted the Hegelian notions of the disappearance of traditional religion and the consequent death of art onto non-Western cultures. On the other hand, our evolutionary conception of art is said to be incompatible with artistic practices based on tradition and the repetition of established models. This statement needs qualifying: besides the fact that invention and the pursuit of novelty is part of our tradition, it is time to move away from a view of the history of art as a series of ruptures. In the well-known case of Cézanne, for example, was his rupture with the past really as significant as it is made out to be? It is equally valid to see art history in terms of its permanence – not as a continued linear development but as a revival of lost traditions, of signs and symbols belonging to the history of humanity and not necessarily to the history of art.

The premises are different and so are the contexts, but, if we set aside the grand cultural narratives and looks rather at the working of the creative impulse in the artist as an individual, the gap seems less wide. It is here that we may find common denominators: the motivation that drives an individual to create, and the series of formal decisions with which he exercises his freedom. When the artist gives form to his idea, the difference between the respect for tradition and the urge to innovate becomes blurred. A Nepalese or Tibetan thangka painter puts his entire faith into his work. He may make some modifications to traditional models according to his own religious beliefs or interpretation of the articles of faith, and so development becomes possible, even if it is very slow. By contrast, a Western artist who goes on painting the same forms for twenty years is doing nothing but reproducing a model of his own devising.

 

Art historian Jean-Hubert Martin has served as director of the Kunsthalle Bern,  the National Museum of Modern Art at the Centre Pompidou, the Musée national des arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie in Paris, and the Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf. He was also artistic director at Château d’Oiron and the Pavilion of Contemporary Art in Milan. His interest in non-Western cultures has led him to conceive exhibitions that break down barriers by bringing together heterogeneous works, thereby transforming the way we look at them (Magiciens de la terre, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 1989, Artempo, Museo Fortuny, Venice, 2007, and Theater Of The World, MONA, Hobart, 2012). He has curated or been involved in curating numerous biennales (Sydney, São Paulo, Lyon, Moscow, Venice) and large-scale exhibitions: Paris – Berlin (1978), Paris – Moscow (1979), One image may hide another (2009), Dalí (2012).

 

 

The whole text is published in Lucy Steeds et al., Making Art Global (Part 2): ‘Magiciens de la Terre’ 1989, London: Afterall Books in association with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College and Van Abbemuseum, 2013, pp.216–22.

 

 

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.